Top Menu

    Iwobi, Iheanacho nominated for CAF player of the year

    The trio of Alex Iwobi, Oghenekaro Etebo and Kelechi Iheanacho have been nominated for fresh categories in the 2016 African player of the year awards, so also is Asisat Oshoala, while Super Falcons coach Florence Omagbemi has been nominated for coach of the year.

    Also nominated are the Super Falcons for the women’s national team of the year, as well as the Nigeria U23 side for the national team of the year.

    CAF released the nominees for the other categories for the 2016 Glo-CAF Awards on Sunday.

    The categories Women’s Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, Club of the Year, Coach of the Year, Women’s National Team of the Year, Youth Player of the Year, Most Promising Talent, Referee of the Year, Football Leader of the Year, Fair Play Award, African Legend, Platinum Award, Africa Finest XI.

    The winners will be decided by votes from the CAF Technical & Development, Media Committees and a panel of 20 experts (Journalists, TV consultants) except Fair Play, Legend and Platinum awards, which are not subject to vote. For this year, there will be no votes for the Youth National Team of the Year.

    Meanwhile, the Referee of the Year will be voted only by the CAF Referees Committee. The winners will be announced at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala scheduled for Thursday, January 5, 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.

    Other Categories

    Women’s Player of the Year

    Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)

    Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik)

    Gabrielle ABOUDI ONGUENE (Cameroon & Rossiyanka)

    Janine VAN WYK (South Africa & JVW)

    Raissa FEUDJIO TCHUANYO (Cameroon & Aland United)

    Most promising Talent

    Elia MESCHAK (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)

    Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City)

    Naby KEITA (Guinea & RB Leipzig)

    Oghenekaro ETEBO (Nigeria & CD Feirense)

    Ramadan SOBHI (Egypt & Stoke City)

    Youth Player of the Year

    Alex IWOBI (Nigeria & Arsenal)

    Eric AYIAH (Ghana U-17)

    Franck KESSIE (Cote d’Ivoire & Atalanta)

    Sandra OWUSU-ANSAH (Ghana & Supreme Ladies)

    Sidiki MAIGA (Mali U-20)

    Coach of the Year

    Florent IBENGE (DR Congo)

    Milutin ‘Micho’ SREDOJEVIC (Uganda)

    Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns)

    Nacer SANDJAK (MO Bejaia)

    Florence OMAGBEMI (Nigeria women’s national team)

    Referee of the Year

    Papa Gasama, Gambia

    Grishea Gehead, Egypt

    Malang Diedhiou, Senegal

    Club of the Year

    Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

    MO Bejaia (Algeria)

    TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

    Zamalek (Egypt)

    Zesco United (Zambia)

    National Team of the Year

    DR Congo

    Guinea Bissau

    Nigeria U-23



    Women’s National Team of the Year




    South Africa

    Designed by OddThemes | © Xclusive Media 2018