Responsive Ad Slot



6 titles in 8 seasons stamps Barcelona's dominance in La Liga


/ by Editor
Barcelona win La Liga 2015/2016
They were 90 minutes away from securing their second consecutive Liga title and FC Barcelona dealt well with the pressure to get a comfortable 3-0 away win over Granada on Saturday evening to win the title in style, their 24th title and their sixth in the last eight seasons.
Fine displays from the entire Barça team and a hat trick by star striker Luis Suarez ensured the Catalan Giants better Real Madrid's 2-0 win over Deportivo with a comprehensive 3-0 victory at Los Carmenes to finish the season one point ahead of their arch-rival, winning the league for the sixth time in eight seasons and for the 8th time in 12.
The Azulgranas started an era with Pep Guardiola in the 2008/2009 season when they won the sextuplet, getting their first Liga win in 3 seasons. Pep's team looked unbeatable and they secured the League title for the next 2 seasons making them champions for three consecutive seasons. Jose Mourinho's Real Madrid obstructed their dominance in the 2011/2012 season winning the league with Los Blancos with a record 100 points. However, the trend would continue the season after with new coach Tito Vilanova equalling Jose Mourinho's 100-point tally to give Barça their 4th title in 5 seasons.
Atletico Madrid showed the stuff they were made of in an epic 2014 season when they secured a 1-1 draw on the last day against Barça to edge the Catalans in the title race, ending a Barça-Real Madrid 10-year duopoly.
Luis Enrique was appointed the new coach of FC Barcelona for the 2014/2015 season and he won the treble in his debut season, returning the Liga title to Catalonia. The FIFA Coach of the Year made it two out of two yesterday after getting the Liga title despite a recent dip in form which saw the Catalans lose 3 consecutive games.
Barça's 6 title win in 8 seasons shows they're indeed the Kings of Spain in modern day. It is also interesting to note that the Catalans also won the title twice in the four seasons before which gives them a superb record of 8 titles in 12 seasons. Just superb dominance from FC Barcelona and it doesn't look like it will be ending soon.

No comments

Post a Comment

Don't Miss
SoccerNet NG © 2018, all rights reserved.