Victor Moses, Asisat Oshoala top winners’ list at Nigeria Pitch Awards

Chelsea FC and Super Eagles’ sensation, Victor Moses, Leicester City FC midfielder Wilfred Ndidi and the rave of the moment, Amaju Pinnick, President of the Nigeria Football Federation were among winners at the 5th Award Ceremony of the Nigeria Pitch Awards held in Port Harcourt, the Rivers State capital last night. 

It was a night of glamour, cultural dances, comedy, musical performances and razzmatazz at the Le Meridien Ogeyi Place venue of the Award Ceremony as organizers hosted Amaju Pinnick, NFF President, Shehu Dikko, 2nd Vice President, Aisha Falode, Chairperson of NWFL, Super Eagles Coach, Gernot Rohr, Super Eagles players and top officials and media personalities to a grand ceremony. The venue of the event was packed full with many football fans who had come to cheer their stars and winners.

Gernot Rohr the Super Eagles Gaffer while receiving the King of the Pitch trophy on behalf of Victor Moses said he had given the player time off to celebrate his first wedding anniversary and to take some rest. Raising the trophy up, he praised the voters’ choice of Victor Moses as the King of the Pitch and hoped the award would inspire others to work harder. Rohr who could not hide his delight excitedly announced that his team would be the youngest at the World Cup. He again stressed that his boys had the character and discipline to succeed at the summer competition.

Victor Moses and Asisat Oshoala were named King and Queen of the Pitch respectively. Amaju Pinnick won the Sam Okwaraji Award for commitment to Nigerian football. He grossed a total of 47 points to defeat his closest contestant who scored 21 points.

Speaking at the event, Pinnick commended the organizers of the awards stressing that it was not easy to organise and award ceremony. He dedicated his award to his team of Shehu Dikko, Seyi Akinwunmi and Aisha Falode.

Gernot Rohr received the Achievement in Football Award. Visibly excited at being honoured, the

Other winners of the night are:

Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Ifeanyi Ubah FC) – Goalkeeper of the Year

Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05) – Defender of the Year

Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City FC) – Midfielder of the Year

Anthony Okpotu (Lobi Stars FC) – Striker of the Year

Anthony Okpotu (Lobi Stars FC) – MVP (Men) in the NPFL

Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo) - MVP (Women) in the NPFL

Kennedy Boboye (Plateau United) – Coach of the Year

Plateau United FC – Team of the Year

Ferdinand Udoh – Referee of the Yerar

Lagos State – State with the Best Grassroots Football Development Programme

His Excellency Emmanuel Udom (Akwa Ibom State) – Football Friendly Governor of the Year

Amaju Melvin Pinnick (President, NFF) – Sam Okwaraji Award for Commitment to Nigerian Football

Aiteo Group – Corporate Sponsor of Football Award

Tana Aiyejina (Punch Newspapers) – Football Journalist of the Year (Print)

Olawale Adigun (Top Radio FM) - Football Journalist of the Year (Print)

Austin Okon-Akpan (Channels TV) - Football Journalist of the Year (Print)

Asisat Oshoala (Dalian Quanjian) – Queen of the Pitch

Victor Moses (Chelsea FC) – King of the Pitch

His Excellency Nyeson Ezenwo Wike, Governor of Rivers State- Special Achievement in Football Award

Aisha Falode – Achievement in Football Award

Channels Kids Cup – Achievement in Football Award

Post a Comment

Designed by OddThemes | © Xclusive Media 2018