Responsive Ad Slot



Sunshine Stars, Wikki Tourist, Rangers Target Fed. Cup Quarter Finals


/ by Augustine Akhilomen
The round of 16 of the 2016 Federation Cup will resume today (Tuesday) as Sunshine Stars confront FA Cup holders, Akwa United at the  Aper Aku Stadium, Makurdi while second place team in the Nigeria Professional Football League, Enugu Rangers will trade tackle with Crown FC of Ogbomosho at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna..

The Akure based club are in rich vein of form as they have maintained a-seven-game winning streak in the NPFL, something which will serve as a motivation for the players against Akwa United.

Prior to this stage, the team defeated Abia Comets 4-3 on penalties after the regulation time ended 1-1 while Akwa United piped Kwara United 1-0 in the previous round.

In the other fixture, high flying Rangers FC faces a banana pill against underdogs, Crown FC on Tuesday.

Crown, who beat NPFL side Niger Tornadoes in the round of 32, will be looking to create another upset by stopping Rangers' march in the competition.

Meanwhile, in the women’s category, Abia Angels will take to the field in Lokoja against Nasarawa Amazons, as Delta Queens and Katsina Queens do battle in Abuja on Tuesday, 12th July.

On Wednesday, Rivers United will play against Shooting Stars at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna while NPFL league leaders, Wikki Tourist set sights on Plateau United in Akure.

Also, Ifeanyi Ubah confront Katsina United at the at the Kwara Sports Complex as Prime FC face Warri Wolves at the Aper Aku Stadium, Makurdi.

Finally, Dynamite will be hoping to upset Nasarawa United while Enyimba tackle El Kanemi in the round of 32.

Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Akwa United        V    Sunshine Stars
Crown FC             V    Rangers
Wednesday, July 13
Rivers United       V   Shooting Stars
Wikki Tourists       V   Plateau United
Katsina United      V  FC IfeanyiUbah
Prime FC               V   Warri Wolves
Dynamite              V    Nasarawa United
Enyimba                V    El-Kanemi (Rd 32)

Don't Miss
SoccerNet NG © 2018, all rights reserved.