Glo NPFL 2014/15 Review: The season in stats and facts

SoccerNet Nigeria
Enyimba FC was recently crowned champions of the Glo Nigeria Premier Football League, following one of the most exciting league campaigns since the league was founded in 1972 with just six teams.

Warri Wolves and Nasarawa United joined the champions in securing continental football next season.

Dolphins narrowly escaped relegation on the very last day of the season, in the process pushing neighbours Sharks FC into the lower cadres. Kwara United, Taraba FC and Bayelsa United also confirmed their demotion to the lesser league.

SoccerNet Nigeria highlights the stats and facts of the just concluded football season.

#1. Enyimba International FC recorded the joint-most wins of 19 and lost the least amount of games (6) en route toclaiming a record seventh title in the Glo Premier League.

#2. Did you know that the ‪ # GloNPFLchampions Enyimba kept 19 clean sheets this season? The most in the top flight.

#3. Enyimba’s league triumph elevates them to a class of notable champions. The Aba Elephants have joined Spain’s FC Barcelona and France’s Olympic Lyonnais as the only teams with the most League titles since year 2000 (7 each).

#4. Enyimba FC and Kano Pillars have now won 11 of the last 15 league titles between them.

#5. Enyimba were 8th on the log after Round 1 of games. After Match Day 10, Sunshine Stars led the table while Enyimba was 3rd. The Aba Elephants climbed to the top of the log for the first time after Match Day 20 after Sunshine Stars, Wikki Tourists and Giwa FC had taking turns in occupying the spot. After a brief dingdong with Sunshine Stars, the People’s Elephants seized control of the NPFL and never looked back, winning the league with a game to spare.

#6. However, it was Enyimba FC’s incredible away form that won the Aba giants their seventh league triumph. A mere 14 wins and 5 draws which placed them 5th on home-league standing behind Warri Wolves, Giwa FC, Sunshine Stars, Kano Pillars and Nasarawa United mean their 5 wins and 6 draws away from home was crucial in making them champions.

#7. Warri Wolves topped the table for the highest scoring sides having placed a whooping 62 goals past opposing goaltenders. Sunshine Stars, next on the goals table, managed four goals less.

#8. The Delta side also had a better goal difference (+31) than the eventual league winners, having enjoyed the league’s second best defence.

#9. Man-of-the-moment Gbolahan Salami of Warri Wolves scored a brace of penalties in the last league game to finish top of the ‪ # GloNPFLscorers chart with 17 goals. One more than Sunshine Stars’ Tunde Adeniji.

#10. Only four of G. Salami's 17 goals came from the penalty spot this season. Meanwhile, 8 of his 16 goals last term were Penalty Kicks.

#11. A total of 816 goals were recorded in the ‪ #GloNPFL, translating to an average of 2 goals per game.

#12. Sunshine Stars’ 3-0 hammering of Heartland in Owerri was the highest away win recorded all season.

#13. Warri Wolves 5-0 humiliation of El-Kanemi Warriors was the highest home win recorded by any side.

#14. A total of 590 goals were scored on home grounds while 226 were netted by away teams.

#15. After winning the Nigeria Premier Football League in 2009, Bayelsa United FC have since been relegated twice from the top flight.

#16. Sharks FC are relegated from the elite division for the first time since 2007.

#17. Since being formed in 1974, Kwara United have never won the Nigerian top league. They have now been relegated for the second time in three years.

More Nigerian Football News»
[post_ad]For the latest football news, follow us on Twitter and like our Facebook page

Post a Comment

Designed by OddThemes | © Xclusive Media 2018